The AGM of the Ballybay Outdoor Bowling Club took place on 25th March in the Bowling Pavillion. There was a good attendance of members and all were delighted at the upgrade of the bowling green which was needed after 13 years of use. The Chairman Uel Gamble was in charge of proceedings and thanked all the members for all their help during the year. There was also much praise for all the teams that participated in the various competitions which also included our team which won the Border Counties League in 2018.
The minutes of the last AGM was read and approved. Both secretary and treasurer gave their reports and all was in agreement that it was good to see our financial situation in a healthy state after spending almost €18000 on the new underlay and improvements to the green. After the chairman’s report we had the election of officers for the coming year. President Malachy Mc Skane. Chairman Uel Gamble who agreed to take the chair for another year but said it should rotate at least every 2 years. Vice Chairman – Brendan Magennis. Secretary – Cora Smyth. Assistant Secretary – Philip Gibson. Treasurer – Benny Smyth. Assistant Treasurer – Bertie Latimer. PRO – Benny Smyth. The selection committee who meet every Monday at 7pm is George Berry, Malachy Mc Skane, Seamus Winters and Benny Smyth. It was agreed under AOB that we will have much the same programme of events as last year and its good to see more local teams entering the league. At the moment we have 16 teams entered which will be played in 2 sections. The draw will be made this week and distributed in the coming days as we hope to start the games on the final week in April. In the chairman’s closing remarks he thanked all the members for all they done for the club and hoped that there will be lots of new members joining in the coming season.